top of page

"I was able to continue learning and dancing...because events were open to the public" ~Ian Sorensen

My first experience with Swing and Blues was during my senior year at UConn. Somehow the advertising caught my eye and I attended a workshop. It was unbelievably fun and rewarding. I was able to continue learning and dancing after I graduated because their events were open to the public. Despite moving out of CT, swing dancing is still something I am on the look out for. This group practices radical inclusiveness, and is much better for it. The ability to share and learn with members of the community, including a dedicated alumni base, is what makes this organization special. By preventing them from inviting non-student guests, dancers will not be able to meet and learn from very experienced community members. Furthermore, more organizations should be encouraged to invite community members to their events to help promote the relationship between UConn and the surrounding towns.


~ Ian Sorensen, UConn Alumnus

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page