top of page

"...knitting together networks of people throughout the state"

Dancing is such a great way of meeting and connecting and communicating with others, and I've met many friends of all ages and backgrounds through dance. I really believe that the UConn Swing and Blues community helped to make CT feel like much more of a community, by fostering connections and knitting together networks of people throughout the state. I was thrilled as I watched the dance scene in CT grow, and it really was thriving at one point, with UConn anchoring the dance scene on the eastern end of the state, Yale and Middletown anchoring it to the south, and Hartford anchoring it mid-state, and this "dance corridor" along I-84 and I-91, as I like to call it, created such a great network of people and community. So, I hope UConn reconsiders their policy changes to let this community continue to thrive. In fact, thinking even bigger picture beyond the dance scene, UConn should try to foster broader connections like this in all their clubs, to create networks to stay involved in the broader CT community and be seen as a key contributor to the state.


I would gladly pay to go to the awesome monthly dances. I want to support the dance scene in CT, which had been thriving for a while but which lately seems to have faced a downturn, so I hope this policy change gets amended and UConn can continue to be a bigger part of the dance community in CT!


~ Outside Community Member

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page