top of page

"The people, the inclusiveness, the strong sense of community..." ~Lauren Hill

UConn Swing and Blues changed my life immensely and profoundly transformed it in ways that I never knew were even possible. The people, the inclusiveness, the strong sense of community, and the light-hearted, good nature of the organization's atmosphere have always shone through here. I believe that this club is here to stay and deserves a permanent and rightful place here for many more years to come. Simply put, you just don't come across something like this every day. Nor is there any better feeling that feeling like you're a part of such an amazing, transformative and highly engaging community. If I could do it all over again, from founding the club with Alisha Washer alongside 4-5 of our good friends, I would absolutely do it in a heartbeat. I have ZERO regrets having started and founded the club with her, Bruce, and a couple of our closest friends and I would highly recommend it to anyone in the area to come out for a fun night of dance if you haven't already. You won't know what you've been truly missing out on until you've taken that final leap of faith and that last pinch of bravery and just gone in and walked your fine self through these doors. I promise you won't regret coming, there's just something so magical and special about this organization and the experiences you will both gain from it and give to it. I think a lot of that has to do with the way the club takes you into its arms and treats you like you're immediately one of them, which is, truly a close-knit, loving family. I, for one, know I can always call it my second home, and I think that fact on its own alone speaks volumes just about the organization as whole. So thank you UConn Swing & Blues for always being my second home and my home away from home. Sincerely, Lauren Hill


~ Lauren Hill, UCSB Founding Member

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page